German’s Sweet Chocolate Cake

icookforleftovers

image

German’s Sweet Chocolate Cake does not come from Germany; rather, the sweet chocolate bar was created by Sam German, in the 1850’s.  In the 1957, a Dallas newspaper printed the first known version of this cake.  The recipe was submitted by a homemaker.   It became extremely popular, the recipe shared through local newspapers and printed in community cookbooks. Within one year, the sales of Baker’s Sweet Chocolate had increased 73% nationwide due to the demand.  Thank you, Snopes! (http://www.snopes.com/business/names/cake.asp)

This recipe does require two mixing bowls:  one for the batter, and one for the egg whites which provide the cake its’ lift.  The icing is cooked on the stovetop.  Broken down in steps, it’s easy to put together.    I like to make the cake the night before it’s to be served, making the icing in the morning.  Broken down in two steps this way makes it easy to manage.

View original post 562 more words

About meon lic

You've gotta dance like there's nobody watching, Love like you'll never be hurt, Sing like there's nobody listening, And live like it's heaven on earth It is better to be hated for what you are than to be loved for what you are not Life is like riding a bicycle. To keep your balance, you must keep moving,,,,,,,thats all about my imaginations call me at Click to video call me  ooVoo Video Chat
This entry was posted in all. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to German’s Sweet Chocolate Cake

  1. Greetings from Ohio! I’m bored to tears at work so I decided to browse your website on my iphone during lunch break. I really like the knowledge you provide here and can’t wait to take a look when I get home. I’m amazed at how quick your blog loaded on my mobile .. I’m not even using WIFI, just 3G .. Anyways, good blog!

your comment

