Know your history: Colonialism’s environmental legacy

Earth Oriented

The irreversible social inequalities brought about by colonialism are well known, but the ecological impacts of colonialist ventures are often overlooked. Besides the exploitation of natural resources, the expansion of the British Empire purposefully introduced exotic species to colonised environments, with harmful environmental consequences.

British settlers felt that indigenous African and Australian fauna and flora were not up to scratch when compared to European wildlife. Similar to ‘civilising’ attempts on local populations by introducing Western customs and practices, animals were introduced to ‘civilise’ landscapes into resembling the English countryside.

SOUTH AFRICA

Common starling

The European starling was introduced in the late 19th century by Cecil John Rhodes, the 6th prime minister of the Cape colony.  Rhodes introduced several species of birds and mammals to South Africa, hoping to transform the Cape environment into a peaceful English landscape. As ridiculous as the politician’s attempts sound, Rhodes’ forced addition of the…

View original post 297 more words

About meon lic

You've gotta dance like there's nobody watching, Love like you'll never be hurt, Sing like there's nobody listening, And live like it's heaven on earth It is better to be hated for what you are than to be loved for what you are not Life is like riding a bicycle. To keep your balance, you must keep moving,,,,,,,thats all about my imaginations call me at Click to video call me  ooVoo Video Chat
This entry was posted in all. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Know your history: Colonialism’s environmental legacy

  1. I like this web blog quite a great deal so a great deal fantastic facts. “It’s a poor sort of memory that only performs backward.” by Lewis Carroll.

  2. I’m not good the location you will be getting your info, but great topic. I have to commit a even though discovering out much far more or figuring out extra. Thank you for magnificent info I was in search of this facts for my mission.

  3. I agree together with your thought. Thank you for your sharing.

  4. dilatex says:

    Hi. I wanted to thank you for the great specifics youve posted in your world-wide-web internet site. I will definitelycome back to check it out yet again and have subscribedto your RSS feed. Have a fantastic day.

  5. I just want to say I’m beginner to blogging and certainly liked this web page. Most likely I’m going to bookmark your site . You really have awesome posts. With thanks for sharing with us your web site.

  6. as quickly as I seen this online web-site I went on reddit to share a few of the appreciate with them.

  7. domy z bali says:

    Do you have a spam issue on this website; I also am a blogger, and I was
    curious about your situation; many of us have created some nice procedures and we are
    looking to swap solutions with others, why not shoot me an email if interested.

  8. Thank you so much for providing individuals with remarkably pleasant possiblity to read articles and blog posts from this blog. It is usually so great and jam-packed with amusement for me and my office peers to search your site particularly thrice per week to study the fresh issues you have. And indeed, I’m certainly amazed with the staggering creative ideas you serve. Certain 2 points on this page are clearly the most impressive we’ve had.

  9. Utterly pent content material, thanks for information. “Necessity is the mother of taking chances.” by Mark Twain.

  10. Lyle Para says:

    Thanks a lot but i dont agree with U

  11. Ludie Lorber says:

    Magnificent web site. Lots of useful information here. I’m sending it to several buddies ans additionally sharing in delicious. And obviously, thank you on your sweat!

  12. I love your wordpress theme, where do you get a hold of it through?

your comment

