Overcoming Non-Tariff Barriers in the East Africa Region

Dr Nicholas Kimani

Abstract

East African integration is hailed as a remarkably successful example of regional cooperation. However, the continued imposition of non-tariff barriers to trade (NTBs) by respective Member States’ regulatory authorities is hampering the full and effective functioning of the EAC Treaty and its associated Protocols. However, the policy agenda for dismantling NTB’s is much more complex than reducing tariffs, which can be done literally at a stroke of a pen. Although institutional measures have done to address these inefficient distortions to trade, much more is needed. Without a reorientation of mindsets, away from protectionism towards a determination to promote zero-tolerance to bribery, fraud, corruption and anticompetitive business practices, prospects of a renewed and reinvigorated East African Community remain bleak, and a great opportunity to accelerate the region’s economic development will remain untapped.

View original post

About meon lic

You've gotta dance like there's nobody watching, Love like you'll never be hurt, Sing like there's nobody listening, And live like it's heaven on earth It is better to be hated for what you are than to be loved for what you are not Life is like riding a bicycle. To keep your balance, you must keep moving,,,,,,,thats all about my imaginations call me at Click to video call me  ooVoo Video Chat
This entry was posted in all. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Overcoming Non-Tariff Barriers in the East Africa Region

  1. I think you have noted some very interesting details , regards for the post.

  2. lush acres says:

    Hello my friend! I wish to say that this post is amazing, great written and include almost all significant infos. I’d like to see extra posts like this.

  3. Thanks lots for sharing this with all of us you essentially know what you might be speaking about! Bookmarked. Kindly also stop by my web page =). We could have a link exchange contract in between us!

  4. I absolutely love your blog.. Pleasant colors & theme. Did you develop this amazing site yourself? Please reply back as I’m planning to create my own personal site and would like to find out where you got this from or what the theme is named. Appreciate it!

  5. I simply wanted to thank you incredibly a lot all over again. I’m not sure the factors I could possibly have accomplished without having those aspects shown by you on such dilemma. It had been a true distressing condition in my view, nevertheless taking note of a specialized way you resolved the issue forced me to jump with happiness. I’m just content for this help in addition to hope you seriously know what a effective job that you simply are carrying out instructing a lot of people thru a blog. I’m specific you have got never encounter all of us.

  6. dilatex says:

    I like what you guys are up also. Such clever work and reporting! Carry on the fantastic operates guys I’ve incorporated you guys to my blogroll. I believe it will improve the worth of my web page .

  7. Qiana Favero says:

    Hello, just became to your blog through Google, and found that it is really interesting.

  8. Sex Chat says:

    Basically wanna say that this really is really valuable, Thanks for taking your time to compose this.

  9. Shae Rod says:

    It¡¦s actually a cool and helpful piece of info. I¡¦m happy that you just shared this helpful information with us. Please keep us up to date like this. Thank you for sharing.

  10. Lidia Staner says:

    Very neat blog post.Much thanks again. Cool.

  11. I have come across that now, more and more people will be attracted to digital cameras and the discipline of taking pictures. However, like a photographer, you need to first spend so much period deciding the exact model of digicam to buy along with moving out of store to store just so you could possibly buy the most economical camera of the brand you have decided to choose. But it won’t end now there. You also have to take into consideration whether you can purchase a digital dslr camera extended warranty. Thanks for the good guidelines I gained from your website.

your comment

